You may or may not be aware that all students are automatically enrolled as members of the Student Union! The Student Union Executive Committee is a group of year 13 students who are elected representatives of the student body and look after your social needs outside of the classroom. Each year, a 'Shadow Executive Committee' of year 12 students are elected, so that they can work alongside the year 13 committee in preparation for when they leave. We all have our own responsibilities within the committee but we generally pull together to make sure you all have a fulfilling social experience at college. We meet once a week to discuss a range of issues relating to college life such as college parties, charities fundraising events and how best to spend Student Union funds. We may also be able to help you fund your own charitable endeavors! Our roles as Chair and Vice-Chair are to co-ordinate the committee and ensure that we are working together effectively to make your experience at King Ed’s as enjoyable as possible.

The members of the current Executive Committee are as follows:

  • Chair - Sarah Jacobs (Earls High School)
  • Charities Officer - James Harper (Kinver High School)
  • Secretary - Franziska Clifford (St Paul's School for Girls)
  • Treasurer - Mayson Taylor (King Edward VI School Handsworth)
  • Entertainments Officer - Emily Hayes (Bartley Green School)

The newly elected Shadow Executive Committee are as follows:

  • Chair - Connor Hill (The Wordsley School)
  • Vice Chair - Jack Downes (Haybridge High School)
  • Charities Officer - Emily Owens (St Peter's Collegiate Academy)
  • Equality and Diversity Officer - Tarunpreet Kaur (Ormiston Sandwell Community Academy)
  • Secretary - Johannes Cross-Warren (Ormiston Sandwell Community Academy)
  • Entertainments Officer - Robin Mitchell (Bridgnorth Endowed School)


A day in the life  Read what our students say about us...  Student Untion